Healthy Balance, Healthy Life

Not-SO-Guilty Butter Sugar Cookies

Posted on: November 5, 2010

I’m going to Connecticut this weekend for an early Thanksgiving meal with my dad’s side of the family. I told them I’d bring dessert so I whipped up some yummy buttery sugar cookies. No, they’re not healthy. But I’ve made them less bad-for-you with a little help from my friends. Want to meet them?

Mr. Arthur

Suga suga

Mrs. Balance

Here’s What You Need:

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter at room temp (I zapped my sticks for 30 seconds to soften them up quickly)
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups flour

What You Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. Line cookie sheets with parchment paper or Silpat
  3. If you want to be a pro, measure out flour sift the flour into a bowl and set aside (I’d rather have one less bowl to clean than be a pro so I skipped this part)
  4. Cream butter and sugar together with an electronic mixer
  5. Add the vanilla
  6. Add the flour slowly
  7. Roll 3/4 tablespoons of dough into balls and flatten before placing on the cookie sheet
  8. Bake for 8-10 minutes (took me 9) until the edges turn a slight golden brown.
  9. Cool on a wire rack (if you have one! I’m not that sophisticated yet so I used the rack in my toaster oven!)

Cream of butter and sugar ❤

aerial view of the sugar babies. The cookies got bigger as I went!

I know I didn't need another picture of them but I like this view

Poor (but creative!) student's cooling rack 🙂

Nom nom nom. Of course I tried them. Really yummy. I think I’m experiencing a sugar coma now, though. I mayyyyy have had a ton of dough–luckily there’s no salmonella risk in this recipe!

Happy Friday!


7 Responses to "Not-SO-Guilty Butter Sugar Cookies"

I’m still trying to figure out how my daughter who never wanted to cook has become so proficient at it. I can’t wait to try this. Nom nom indeed!

Wow i love your blog its awesome nice colors you must have did hard work on your blog. Keep up the good work. Thanks
toolplace.wordpress.com

I love this receipe…. I am definitely excited to try it.

Thanks! It’s so easy and really good. My dad’s girlfriend was surprised when she heard how simple they are–they taste amazing!

my daughter loves baking sugar cookies around the holiday, we will have to try this recipe out thanks for posting it. You blog looks good.

Let me know how they turn out, holiday cookies are so fun!

This is a great blog!

formula457.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

For some reason this picture temporarily cannot be viewed
I am a 22 year old social work graduate student living in beautiful Burlington, Vermont. I love do-it-yourself projects, being active, and cooking delicious, healthy food! Feel free to leave comments or email me at AlixandraWest@gmail.com. You can also anonymously ask me questions at http://www.formspring.me/HealthyBalance1 I would love to hear from you!

Healthy Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

