Healthy Balance, Healthy Life

Perfect Portions

Posted on: August 20, 2010

So I wasn’t really into the Jillian Michaels brownies I made 😦 . Quite sad, I was hoping for a good healthy brownie! Other people who have tried this have liked it, though. Both blogger, Pretend Cook, and one of the teenage foster girls I work with really liked them so maybe my taste buds are just on strike.

Sad, they look so good. What a tease!

For dinner I made Garlic-Chile Flank Steak, originally from Eating Well Magazine. It was REALLY good and I didn’t over cook it (this is a big deal for me with steak)!

Steak and veggies

Tender + Juicy = Eat Me!

Did you notice the lack of potatoes to go with my steak and the massive amounts of green on my plate? I hope so! I’m working on eating the right portions so I’ve decided to do two things for every plate of dinner I eat:

  1. At least half of it will be filled with veggies
  2. The other half will be home to the animal protein and grain.
  3. Each serving of meat I eat will be no larger than a deck of cards (which is the recommended portion size)

These rules are pretty easy to follow and they really do help me get the amount of each type of nutrient I’m supposed to have. Some grains and protein and lots and lots of veggies! I’m lucky I’ve always been a vegetable lover!

Questions for You:

Do you like veggies? If so, what’s your favorite veggie dish and how do you make it? If you don’t like veggies, how do you find ways to sneak them into your diet?

You May be Interested in:

Making Sense of Portion Sizes – MealsMatter.org

The WebMD Portion Size Plate

How to Avoid Portion Size Pitfalls to Help Manage Your Weight – Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

10 Ways to Control Portions – About.com

2 Responses to "Perfect Portions"

You are so good to have that steak and not have a single potato! I am working on that. I don’t like veggies that much and I know that I eat too many potatoes. I think I do okay on fruit, but since fruit is on the sweet side it is a little bit easier. Sometimes I will put veggies in my tuna or egg salad or on my other sandwiches that I make. I do like salads, so I will try to put other veggies there. Also, I sneak veggies in by putting them in my pastas or meatloaf. I need to work on better ways to cook veggies and then maybe it will be easier to eat them!

I’ve always loved veggies. Especially grilled or roasted! Try that! Olive oil, salt, and pepper and the heat brings out the flavor mmmmmm.

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

For some reason this picture temporarily cannot be viewed
I am a 22 year old social work graduate student living in beautiful Burlington, Vermont. I love do-it-yourself projects, being active, and cooking delicious, healthy food! Feel free to leave comments or email me at AlixandraWest@gmail.com. You can also anonymously ask me questions at http://www.formspring.me/HealthyBalance1 I would love to hear from you!

Healthy Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

