Healthy Balance, Healthy Life

Simple and Quick Does the Trick

Posted on: August 9, 2010

I tried a lot of new healthy and quick snacks this week (and created a new dinner making left overs!) and there are some I’m in love with. All of them are really simple.

Light Laughing Cow Cheese (I used french onion flavor) on:

Toasted Multi-grain Bread

Rich and Creamy

Granny Smith Apple Slices

Each wedge has just 35 calories!

I also love almond butter on multi-grain bread. Yum!

Left Over Dinner Remix

I had a ton of baked chicken left over from a previous dinner as well as left over homemade tomato sauce (I’ll post the recipe for this soon, too) and three tomatoes that were just about at the end of their lives. I try not to waste anything so I decided to make a pasta dish by combining the left overs with a few other ingredients.

I boiled some whole wheat blend pasta and heated the left over sauce in a sauce pan on medium heat while broiling diced tomatoes topped with balsamic vinegar in the oven.While I was waiting for the tomatoes to broil, I shredded the left over chicken and mixed it in with the sauce to get warm. Once the tomatoes were done (about 20 minutes) I threw them into the sauce to add some fresh flavor and texture. I also added some chili powder and red pepper flakes to spice it up a bit, too.

It was really good.

Looks Like New!

That’s all for this week’s update! I can’t believe it’s August already. Time to get my binders and books together–it’s back to school for me!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

For some reason this picture temporarily cannot be viewed
I am a 22 year old social work graduate student living in beautiful Burlington, Vermont. I love do-it-yourself projects, being active, and cooking delicious, healthy food! Feel free to leave comments or email me at AlixandraWest@gmail.com. You can also anonymously ask me questions at http://www.formspring.me/HealthyBalance1 I would love to hear from you!

Healthy Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

