Healthy Balance, Healthy Life

Speedy Chili

Posted on: July 25, 2010

Simple and easy recipe for a simple chili! Takes about 20 minutes tops to make this and it’s chock full of veggies too. Fills you up!

Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 lean ground beef
  • 1/2 pound ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup chopped onion
  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 2 8 ounce cans of tomato sauce (2 cups)
  • 1 16 ounce can of kidney beans (2 cups)
  • 1 tsp of salt
  • 1 tsp of chili powder (I like a bit more)

Preparation:

  1. In a medium saucepan, cook together onion, green pepper, and meat until it is lightly browned. Spoon off excess fat and throw away.
  2. Stir in tomato sauce ; cook over low heat for 5 minutes.
  3. Stir in kidney beans and salt. Cook until heated through.
  4. Stir in chili powder.
  5. Enjoy!
2 Responses to "Speedy Chili"

This is pretty close to my chili recipe. Add in some cumin and try black beans instead of the kidney beans and whole red pack tomatoes instead of the tomato sauce. And I have a secret ingredient but I can’t post it here or I’ll give away the secret to my Chili Success.

I can’t believe my daughter has finally embraced cooking like a pro! You’re doing me proud, babe!

OOOH Thanks for the adaptation mom, I’ll try it out! The readers will appreciate a variation, too, I’m sure. You should do some guest blogging for some of your awesome recipes on here!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

For some reason this picture temporarily cannot be viewed
I am a 22 year old social work graduate student living in beautiful Burlington, Vermont. I love do-it-yourself projects, being active, and cooking delicious, healthy food! Feel free to leave comments or email me at AlixandraWest@gmail.com. You can also anonymously ask me questions at http://www.formspring.me/HealthyBalance1 I would love to hear from you!

Healthy Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

