Healthy Balance, Healthy Life

Vanilla Cinnamon Ricotta Creme Dessert: Surprisingly Good!

Posted on: July 15, 2010

You really have to try this. I thought it sounded gross when I read this recipe but it’s actually quite yummy! The taste reminds me a bit of rice pudding. The ricotta cheese is high in protein and the cinnamon is a good antioxidant. It is also suitable for Eating Clean and All phases of the South Beach Diet

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 package sugar substitute (I like Splenda)

Directions: Mix ingredients together and serve chilled.

Nutrition Facts per Serving

178 calories, 14 g protein, 7 g carbs, 10 g fat, 6 g saturated fats, 155 mg sodium, 38 mg cholesterol, 0 g fiber

Adaptations:

  • Instead of vanilla, use almond extract.
  • Add unsweetened cocoa!
4 Responses to "Vanilla Cinnamon Ricotta Creme Dessert: Surprisingly Good!"

Interesting! Doesn’t sound bad at all!

Can you add nutmeg too? I assume yes, but figured I’d ask.

Yes, of course! Any spice without added sugar is completely fine and, obviously, a great way to add flavor to anything.

That’s a really good suggestion. It triggered me to think about adding cloves in addition to canned pumpkin (which is actually already cooked, I didn’t know that!). The pumpkin is a no-no for me in phase one of this diet but I can introduce it in phase two! Only a week and a half more to go! Can’t wait to try this new variation. And tonight I’ll try the nutmeg addition!

I don’t know about you but I LOVE pumpkins and they have great health benefits! They are high in carotenoids, lutein, and zeaxanthin which are all antioxidants, preventing free radicals from damaging our cells so we can stay looking and feeling young, beautiful, and healthy longer!

[…] For dessert I had the most surprisingly yummy concoction: Vanilla Cinnamon Ricotta Creme. I adapted this from a recipe in the South Beach book and I didn’t expect it to be so good because I’ve always thought ricotta cheese was gross. It’s not! Here’s the recipe. […]

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

For some reason this picture temporarily cannot be viewed
I am a 22 year old social work graduate student living in beautiful Burlington, Vermont. I love do-it-yourself projects, being active, and cooking delicious, healthy food! Feel free to leave comments or email me at AlixandraWest@gmail.com. You can also anonymously ask me questions at http://www.formspring.me/HealthyBalance1 I would love to hear from you!

Healthy Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

