Healthy Balance, Healthy Life

First day back at school/First day of the Eat Clean Work Out!

Posted on: January 18, 2010

Hey everyone! So I’m really excited about being back so that I can use the gym at school! I’ve been reading The Eat Clean Diet Work Out by Tosca Reno and I just put what I’ve learned into action today.

What I’ve learned so far:

  • It’s important to train all muscle groups so that you have overall, balanced body strength.
  • Taking rest days after weight training is necessary so that the muscle can rebuild itself and you don’t hurt yourself/exhaust your body.
  • Beginners should start by doing only one set of 12 reps for each muscle group.
  • Beginners should work all muscle groups in one work out while intermediate to advanced trainers can split the muscle groups they work on between days (For example, train upper body one day, and lower body the next)
  • Beginners should weight train 3 times a week and do cardio 4-5 times.
  • Beginners shouldn’t get overly excited and push themselves too much!

So, today I went into the gym with a work out plan. I wrote all of the muscle groups I needed to train on an index card and then I had a space to write the name of the exercise I did, what weight I used, and then notes. I also had a space to write what cardio I did and a general note to reflect on the entire work out. (You can see the scanned image of  it below this post). The work out was perfect for me; I didn’t feel like I pushed myself too hard but I did  wake up my muscles. In two weeks or so, I’ll be able to add more weight and sets to my work out! I’ll also try to find and incorporate new exercises. After I came back, I decided to make up a “Training Log Layout” so that I can print them out and fill them in while at the gym rather than writing the same body parts that I need to train over and over again. Here it is!

Date :                                    Time:

Body Part Exercise Weight Sets/Reps Notes
Chest
Upper Back
Lower Back
Shoulders
Thighs (Quads)
Calves
Biceps
Triceps
Abs
Obliques

Cardio:__________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Notes: __________________________________________________________________________________________________________

When I got back, I took pictures of myself in a bikini so I can monitor my progress as I go along. When I have some progress, I’ll put these up to show where I came from!

Other than that, I did a pretty good job attempting to eat clean today. For breakfast I had some of the protein bars I made. For lunch I went to Garden Room (our cafeteria) and I had some zucchini and summer squash I pulled out of a wrap, egg whites, and I mixed bruschetta with red kidney beans and put it on top of some Ezekiel bread I toasted. (Ezekiel bread can be found in the fridge at the market. It is made of six live sprouted grains and legumes. It is a complete protein which closely parallels the protein found in milk and eggs. In fact, the protein quality is so high, that it is 84.3% as efficient as the highest recognized source of protein, containing all 9 essential amino acids. There are 18 amino acids present in this unique bread, all from vegetable sources!). Dinner wasn’t so great but I stuck to the diet. I got roast tomatoes and peanut butter so that I could have protein. I couldn’t find any raisins to put with it so I just had it plain–yuck! After I had some plain greek yogurt I added agave nectar, walnuts, and flax seeds to. Yummy! It made up for the plain peanut butter in a nutritious way! 17 grams of protein per serving! 🙂

My first day was a success–hope I can keep it up!

My 1st Eat Clean Diet Work Out! 1/18/2010

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

For some reason this picture temporarily cannot be viewed
I am a 22 year old social work graduate student living in beautiful Burlington, Vermont. I love do-it-yourself projects, being active, and cooking delicious, healthy food! Feel free to leave comments or email me at AlixandraWest@gmail.com. You can also anonymously ask me questions at http://www.formspring.me/HealthyBalance1 I would love to hear from you!

Healthy Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

