Healthy Balance, Healthy Life

Eat Clean!!

Posted on: January 17, 2010

I want to share a way of eating that I’ve become interested in.

Lyme wreaked a lot of havoc on my body. I gained about twenty pounds and the symptoms were just terrible. After about three months, antibiotics helped me feel 80% better. For about a month after that, though, I was not improving. I decided (against doctors orders–he wanted me on antibiotics for at least a year!!!) to come off all of my meds and see if maybe my Lyme was gone and the reason I wasn’t improving was because the antibiotics were doing more harm than good. Since I’ve gone off, I’ve felt great! But since there is such a high incidence of relapse with Lyme, I want to make sure I’m as healthy as possible (especially my immune system) in an attempt to prevent a relapse.

Here’s where eating clean comes in!

Here’s a definition of it that I found on another blog: “When I refer to ‘eating clean’ – I am referring to eating food prepared using high quality ingredients that is basically free of man-made sugars, hydrogenated fats, trans-fats and other unnecessary ingredients (synthesized preservatives, etc). This does not preclude some desserts, but it does pretty much rule out most packaged, processed foods. It also means I try not eat things that have no nutritional value – white bread for example is on a par with angel food cake for nutrition. All the good stuff has been stripped out and it’s just fillers and air. This seems to put me on the same page as others who use the term.”

Tosca Reno is like the “Eat Clean Queen”. Here’s an interview with her

and here’s a self article on eating clean

I learned about it through, Laura, the woman I babysit for who is in amazing shape and very healthy! She gets oxygen magazine (in which Tosca has a column) and also clean eating which has recipes and other clean eating information. For Christmas, she got me “The Eat Clean Diet Recharged!” by Tosca Reno. It was such a good read, I read it within a week. Basically, the “diet” (which is really just a lifestyle choice…there’s no counting calories or restricting quantity) promotes eating small meals with lean proteins, complex carbs, and healthy fats. It really makes you feel great and you’re never hungry or tired—the “diet” is basically getting your body to feel healthy and satisfied all the time! You’re not SUPPOSED to be tired or hungry or head-achey. There is quite a bit of speculation that the chemicals in “dirty” food If you have these “symptoms”, the diet will help correct them. Since incorporating the eat clean perspective into my life, I’ve had less headaches, been less hungry, and my acne has improved a bit!

The book has also inspired me to cook (something I’ve never wanted to do before!). There are recipes in the back of the book so I’ve made chicken stir fry with quinoa (which even Dan likes!!), Steak with salad greens and asian noodles, lentil and vegetable stew, and homemade protein bars. I also used Dan’s slow cooker to make vegetable stock and shrimp creole soup. The recipes are so yummy and good for you. I also have started packing clean snacks when I go out so I don’t get in a bind where I buy something dirty because I don’t have access to something clean. I went to New York yesterday and brought sliced apples and strawberries and protein bars to keep me satisfied. And I was! Dan no longer has to cook all of our meals!!

Although I’m not in a situation where I can eat clean as much as I would like to (I live in a dorm, don’t have a kitchen, have to eat at school, healthy food is expensive, etc.) I think it’s a good goal to have. Now that I’m going back to school for my last semester, my goal is to make the best decisions based on the food that’s available in the dining halls. I’ll keep you all posted on how it goes! 🙂

2 Responses to "Eat Clean!!"

Considerably, the post is in reality the greatest topic on this related issue. I agree with your conclusions and will eagerly look forward to your coming updates. Saying thanks will not just be adequate, for the great clarity in your writing. I will directly grab your rss feed to stay privy of any updates.

Thanks! This past semester was a busy one so I haven’t had time to update but I’m looking forward to catching up this summer!

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

For some reason this picture temporarily cannot be viewed
I am a 22 year old social work graduate student living in beautiful Burlington, Vermont. I love do-it-yourself projects, being active, and cooking delicious, healthy food! Feel free to leave comments or email me at AlixandraWest@gmail.com. You can also anonymously ask me questions at http://www.formspring.me/HealthyBalance1 I would love to hear from you!

Healthy Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

