Healthy Balance, Healthy Life

Snowboarding at Sugarbush!

Posted on: January 8, 2010

Dan looking good as always 🙂

Me before the first run

Hey everyone! It’s been awhile since I’ve posted and I’ve got some fun things to talk about, starting with snowboarding!

So I’ve been (attempting) to learn to snowboard for some time now. Last year, I finally got a snowboard set up for Christmahanuka (thanks dad!) so I started going to Bear Creek (a mountain near my school) to practice. I also went in Massachusetts a couple times with my friend Marlaina. I only went a max of five times but, by the end of the season, I felt like I was getting better because I was confident on both heel and toe edge and I was starting to link turns. I definitely need a lot (A TON!) more practice so I bought a season pass for Sugarbush this season. Dan and I went on Tuesday and it was so fun! As Dan says, in the beginning of the day, I looked like a beginner but by the end I looked like I knew what I was doing! Yayyy! By the end I was linking turns with ease! Quite exciting although I felt so achey the next day that I couldn’t go back for more! I think I need to man up if I’m going to be serious about getting snowboarding to click. Although I do have fun snowboarding, it’s also frustrating to not know how to do what I want to do. I watch Dan carving down the mountain in front of me and it looks like he’s gliding!


Playful slopeside break!

Sugarbush

Mid peak

Here are some pictures and a video of me mid day

Leave a Reply

Welcome!

For some reason this picture temporarily cannot be viewed
I am a 22 year old social work graduate student living in beautiful Burlington, Vermont. I love do-it-yourself projects, being active, and cooking delicious, healthy food! Feel free to leave comments or email me at AlixandraWest@gmail.com. You can also anonymously ask me questions at http://www.formspring.me/HealthyBalance1 I would love to hear from you!

Healthy Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers

